Chittorgarh Fort

Chittorgarh Fort has a very glory history in Rajasthan state and largest fort of India. The fort was capital of Mewar Empire but now it is under the World Heritage Site. The fort is called Chittaur. The fort is spread around 691.1 acre and above the plain of Berach River. The fort builders were so inspired to tourist and writers during the period. In beautiful spot various inspirable things available that’s increase beauty of fort as like historical palace, gates, temple and many more.

Chittorgarh Fort

History of the fort

7th century to 16 century the Mewar was the capital of Rajputs. The fort show sacrifice of the Rajput men and women that was related to invaders Northwest and Delhi. All-au-din-Khilji was an emperor of Delhi Sultnate. Who coveted Queen Padmini of the fort, invaded the city in 1303 but queen and other women of the court, sacrifice themselves it has been called “Jauhar”.

Several Dynasties are related to the fort:-

  • Mauryas(7-8th century AD)
  • Pratiharas (9-10th century AD)
  • Paramaras (10-11th century AD)
  • Solankis (12 century AD)
  • Mughal Emperor Akbar (1567)

Silent features of the fort:-

  • Water fort: - the fort had 80 water bodies these are included as Ponds, Wells, and Step wells. According to a land survey total land of fort is covered 40 percentage of water.
  • Tower of Victory (Vijay Stambh):- the tower was built by Maharana Kumbha in 1440 AD. This is symbol if a great victory over Khilji. Around 157 narrow steps and 9 storyed tower.
  • Tower of Fame (Kirti Stambh):- it has 22 meter high and seven storyed tower. It is dedicated to Adinathji the first Jain Teerthankar built in 12th century.
  • Gaumukh Reservior: - a very deep tank related to “Cow Mouth”.
  • Rana Kumbha Palace: - this is most massive monument in the fort.
  • Meera Temple: - the temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu that was built in 1449 AD.
  • Jain Temples: - seven temples are in the fort largest temple is Bhagwan Adinatha.
  • Seven Gates of the fort: - the fort has seven gates. You can go very gate(Pol) and different name of the gate that’s are
    1. Padan Pol
    2. Ram Pol
    3. Bhairon Pol
    4. Hanuman Pol
    5. Ganesh Pol
    6. Laxman Pol
    7. Jorla Pol
  • Informations
  • Informations