Punjab- The Land of Five Rivers

Punjab is the state located in the Northern region of India. Earlier to 1966, Haryana and Himachal Pradesh was also the part of Punjab that later becomes independent states. Punjab was a one of the largest provinces of British India that was divided into India and Pakistan in the 1947 partition. The state is bordered by Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana and Rajasthan with the international border of Pakistan to the east, north, south, southwest and west respectively.

The word Punjab is formed by the combination of two words that are ‘Punj’ means five and ‘Aab’ means water. Therefore, it is referred to as the ‘Land of five waters’. The name of the state was given by Maharaja Ranjeet Singh. With the overall area of 50,362 square kilometres, the state becomes the 19th largest region of the country.

Specialties of Punjab: -

Points of interest: - Golden Temple, Harmandir Sahib, Jallianwala Bagh, Akal Takht, Durgiana Temple, Summer Palace Of Maharaja Ranjit Singh, Wagah Border, Harike Wetland, ChattBir Zoo, Punjab Cricket Association (Mohali), Qila Mubarak, Nakki Lake and So on....

Punjab Img


The richest cultural state of India is known for its traditions, values and soft hearted people. The state encompasses a large volume of Sikh population. The strong roots of the Sikh culture began at the time of Babur when his grandson Akbar was influenced by the respective religious values after visiting the langar of Guru Amar Das ji. Bhangra and Giddha are the famous folk dances of Punjab and with the change of time; this form of dance has become popular among the worldwide audience.

Punjabi is the regional language of the state being spoken by all the native people of Punjab. Famous festivals that are celebrated in all the regions are Baisakhi and Diwali; with Guru Purab and Hola Mohalla as the religious festivals. The religious festivals have significant importance. With a large number of Gurudwaras or Temples, the state has emerged as the region of research and many students comes to the state for research purposes.


The state is divided into many sub cities that includes Amritsar, Ludhiana, Jalandhar, and Patiala to name a few. It is bounded by four national states with one international boundary of Pakistan. There are three major sub-divisions including Majha, Malwa and Doaba and the 22 districts of the state falls under these subdivisions. Chandigarh, a Union Territory is the Capital city of Punjab and is also shared by Haryana.

The state is famous for producing a large number of herbs. Around 355 unique species of valuable herbs, 70 popular species of shrubs with a large variety of trees are being found in the state. With 396 species of birds, 55 species of distinctive fish, 19 species of unique mammals, 214 species of Lapidoptera, the state has become the region rich in flora and fauna.


The state is known as “India’s bread basket” and “Granary of India”. Wheat is among the largest crops cultivated in Punjab and it contributes a larger amount to its economy. The state produces 10.26% of the country’s cotton, 11% of rice and 19.5% of India’s overall wheat. With this, the state has become one of the largest producers of Wheat and Rice.

Though the literacy rate of the state is 76.68%, but still unemployment exists to a larger extent. This might be due to the reason that any Multinational Company or an individual do not want to invest in the state. No major industries are found in the regions of Punjab and people are left with no choice, but to move abroad.

  • Informations
  • Informations