Himalayas or Himalayan

Himalayas or Himalaya is a range of Mountain in Asia separating the plains of the Indian Continent. Himalaya is the youngest mountain range. Mount Everest is the highest peaks of mountain in the world with at 8,848 meters. The name of mountain drives from Sanskrit Himalaya (Abode of Snow). Its beginning can be traced in the Jurassic era, which is about 70 to 80 year ago. The Himalayan range is crossed over the five country including Bhutan, India, Nepal, China and Pakistan. But most of Himalayan ranges are situated in Bhutan, India and Nepal. Three Major Rivers are rise from the Himalayan which is The Indua, The Ganga and The Brahmaputra.

The Himalayas extend more than 2400 km from Indua Valley (West) to Brahmaputra Valley (East) and is varies between 150 to 250 km wide. The Himalayan range gives 9 highest peaks in out of 14 highest peaks in the World Mountains.

Visit: Himalayan Hill Stations in India

Himalayan Range

Highest Peaks of Himalayas

Mount Everest is the one of the highest peak on the earth. It is a Himalayan range with the Height of 8,848 meters (between 26000 to 27000 ft). The higher peak is situated in Nepal of Mahalangur Himal, Himalaya range. Menzing Hillery was the first person to reach on the top of Mount Everest in 29 my 1953.

Peak K2 is the second highest peak of Himalayan range, was first discovered by trigonomatrical observations in 1858. With the Height 8.611 Meters (28,250 ft), it is second highest peak (1st in Pakistan) on the earth. K2 Location, Gilgit-Baltistan, Pakistam, Tashkurgan, china are in the Karakoram Range.

Kanchenjunga is at number 3rd in ranked and is situated in chouda Pheri, Sikkim. The highest peak of Kanchenjunga elevation at 8,586 meter (28, 170 ft). It is located in the Nepal and Indian Border and Joe Brown and George Band were the first to reach on the top of Kanchenjunga Peak in 25 may 1955.

Makalu is at number at 5th in ranked with the elevation 8,436 meters (27,765 ft). It is located in Nepal and China-Tibet border. Mr. Lionel and Mr. Jean Couzy were the first who reach on the Makalu in 15 May 1955.

Nanga Parbat is at number 9th in ranked with the height 8,126 meters (26.660 ft). Hermann Buhl is the first person who was reached on the top of Nanga Parbat in 3 July 1953.

The Main Himalayan Range in India

Pir Pinjal Range is a set of mountains in the Inner Himalayan section, situated in east-southeast to west-nothwest across the two Indian states Himachal Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir and POK. Two major pass in the Kashmir valley are Pir Pangal Pass (West of Srinager) and Banihal Pass (Lies on the top of Jhelum River and end in Kashmir valley).

Dhaula Dhar Range is a part of chief external Himalayan series of mountain. Dhauladhar words drives from Dhaula (White) and Dhar (Mountain Range). It is easily visible due to snow capped ridge. Shivalik Hills lies in the south with the usual height of 1500 to 2000 meters.

Zanskar Range, also spelled Zasker Range, chain of the mountains in the Himalayan region and lies to the north of Main Himalaya. It divides Ladakh section from the valley of Kashmir and the Chenab stream. Zanskar Range is the highest peak of Himachal Pradesh.

Ladakh Range is the main part of Trans-Himalayan Range that consolidates with Kailash Range in Tibet. The Famous and significant passes in the north east Leh are Kardung La and Digar La.

East Karakoram Range is a massive mountain range, which divides India and central Asia as per geographically.


  • Informations
  • Informations